Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
mrs_sergeant

water systems help I dont want to be douped!

mrs.sergeant
11 years ago

Hi! I am a newbie to posting but I have been lurking on this site for a year while we were building our house. It has been such a valuable resource and I'm so happy I found it!
I was really hoping I could get some non biased expert advice on some problems we are having with our water. I would be so appreciative for some input. We live on 1.5 acres brand new house on a well. The well is 140 ft deep and has problems with Iron at 2ppm, Hardness at 7gpg, PH is 6.5, and mild sulphur smell at .5. The TDS is 160 and we do have a slight bacteria with orange brown sludge in our toilet tanks and brownish orange water collecting in toilet bowls, dog bowl, bath water etc. The flow rate is 16 We have pex piping and wrisbow fittings so we are not worried about damage to those.
Please tell me your opinion on these systems or a suggestion on a better one, I have two estimates Ive narrowed down

Kinetico 2060 Ssoft, pgh line fitter and post carbon filter- $3135
Watercare 10x54 total water care conditioner with min plus pre filtration and post filtration $3600 plus need an outlet

Comments (7)

• AliceHasLeftTheBuilding
    11 years ago

Without the following, there is no way to tell you a correct softener size:

1. How many people in your household?
    2. Do you have plans to change the number in the household?
    3. Frequent guests?
    4. Do you have any high water use fixtures, such as jet tubs or mult-head showers?

Some concerns:

1. 2 ppm iron does not tell us the form of the iron. Is it ferric (particulate) or ferrous (water is clear when drawn but gains color when allowed to sit)? With the correct resin, although it's not ideal, a softener can remove ferrous iron, but not ferric.

2. sulfur has the potential to foul your softener resin

3. It does not appear either company has really addressed the pH of your water.