Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
tp2006

Water-Right Impression Series

tp2006
12 years ago

Hi,

Just a newbie here, I was wondering if anyone has any opinion or experience with Water-right's Impression Series water softeners? Our water hardness (from village well supply) came out to be around 26 grains when tested and was suggested IMRC1054 system with a carbon filter for de-chlorination. Spec sheets for the impression RC series can be found here - http://www.water-right.com/library/literatureManuals.php

Thanks for any help...

Comments (14)

• User
    12 years ago

Basically an industry standard softener using a Clack control valve. The way they show their installation in the manual is only softening the water to the water heater which is stupid and a waste of money. I'm sure it's more expensive than the same thing (or similar industry standard softener) from a local independent water treatment pro.

Whether the 1054 is correctly sized or not... we'd need more info on the water conditions. Hardness, iron, manganese, PH, TDS, and such along with the # of people in the home and the # of bathrooms. Need to know the SFR also.

I don't recommend filtering out the chlorine of the whole house. It is in there for a reason. You should consider an under sink RO in the kitchen for drinking, cooking, and ice maker water. That will get you the equivalent of the water you buy at the WalMart water machine.

• tp2006
    Original Author
    12 years ago

Thanks for the quick response.

The water tested no iron or manganese. The other details are as follows: TDS - 270, PH-7.1 and the house has 2-1/2 bath with a family of 4. Not sure how to get the SFR?

Thanks,

• User
    12 years ago

Whoever recommended the 1054 has no idea how to correctly size a softener and absolutely no idea of efficient softener operation.

The 1054 (1.5 cu ft resin) would be small. You'd be regenerating every 6 days but you'd be using 15 lbs/ cu ft (22.5 lbs of salt total). Very inefficient.