Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
barrow

Dripping Faucet Won't Fix!!

Jane Barrow
9 years ago

I hope someone can assist me. I am an artist, homeowner and have repaired a badly dripping faucet in my bathroom. I consider myself average for such fixits but really... this wasn't that complicated a job yet I have not been able to Fix!!! I replaced washer and spring. This wasn't enough. Then I replaced inner stem (don't know the proper term)
and all SHOULD work now but faucets turn without turning water on or off. I have finally determined that it must be the nut ?? which I think was originally flush to the base and now does not turn this far. I sprayed both nut and threads with Liquid Wrench for mild improvement but all videos say that one does not have to put overdue pressure on tightening this. However no video - that I have seen yet - explains to me whether the nut should touch the base (cover plate). It seems logical that it would as there are more threads to be seen. This overall mechanism is simple enough and I have checked repeatedly so this seems to be the only thought I have left. I am feeling SO frustrated for such a simple job!!!

Comments (6)

• snoonyb
    9 years ago

And the make and model of the faucet, please

• Jane Barrow
    Original Author
    9 years ago