Return to the Plumbing Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Installing hand shower to roman tub spout

Posted by olivea (My Page) on
Fri, Sep 24, 10 at 18:00

I have a deck-mounted roman tub faucet with 3 holes (for the hot nozzle, the cold nozzle, and the gooseneck spout). I want to install a hand shower, but don't see any hardware online that will allow me to do this. It seems like they expect you to tear out the tub, and change the rough-in to a 4 hole one (with the recessed hand shower slot). I don't want to tear up my tub to get this working. Is there any other way? I am a complete novice who knows nothing about plumbing - I would appreciate any help. Thanks.

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Installing hand shower to roman tub spout

I don't think there is an off the shelf solution to simply add a handshower --

But if you don't want to tear up the deck, then consider a single handle roman tub faucet with a hand shower --

http://faucets.efaucets.com/nav/ct2/onehandlewithhandshower/ct1/romantubfaucets/0

Of course, that part of the plumbing will need to be redone -- but then probably no tile or tub work.

o

Hi,
We are also looking for a solution for the same problem and were wondering if you found an answer. If so, could you guide as well.
Thanks

o

please check out this video on youtube.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=E_CC0-yBqVA

o

I'm having this same issue and there doesn't seem to be a great solution anywhere, so i'm bumping the thread in the hopes that someone knowledgeable will have a bright idea. I considered the solution suggested by peteinsonj, above, but since the current tub filler is deck mounted in tile with no access panel I don't see how to change the plumbing 'guts' without ripping up the deck. Am I missing something?

o

In some instances you can access the tub mixer by coming in from the back through an adjacent room.