Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
daanoy

Should I install a recirculating system?

daanoy
9 years ago

My question is twofold and please bear with me. I am new to all this and so I may not have the terminology right.

1) I have a house that is being gutted and new plumbing put in. Should I put in a recirculating system? I have been looking at the ACT D'Mand Kontrol System.

2) Since I am putting in a new plumbing system, is it worth it to put in a dedicated return line? Or since the D'Mand Kontrol System can be used with or without a return line, would it just be an unnecessary expense?

Some additional info: I have a standard water heater tank and I'm not looking to replace it since it's 3 years old. I'm not sure if it's gas or electric. The house is a 2 story with 3 bathrooms, but only 2 will be used regularly. The water heater is in the attic. We don't have a basement. A bath is run for the kids every night but we keep that water quite shallow.

Comments (7)

• jakethewonderdog
    9 years ago

A recirc system will reduce the amount of time you wait for hot water. The question of "should you install one" is entirely up to you.

The positives are that they can reduce your wait for hot water and may reduce your water usage if you run a lot of water waiting for it to get hot. The negatives are the cost of the system and that it will increase your energy usage somewhat through the loss of heat to the surrounding area.

If you do put one in, put in a dedicated return line since you are redoing the plumbing. Otherwise your cold water will be warm.

Also - very important -- insulate all of the hot water lines including the dedicated return.

The D'Mand Kontrol System seems pricy for a residential system.

• daanoy
    Original Author
    9 years ago

Would you please elaborate on your comment about heat loss to the surrounding area? Why is there more heat loss with a recirculation system versus a standard plumbing setup?

• User
    9 years ago