Return to the Plumbing Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Permanent removal of a garbage disposal

Posted by deeinmd (My Page) on
Wed, Aug 18, 10 at 7:53

My 84 year old mother has a single sink with a non functioning garbage disposal that is clogged and she is washing dishes in the bathroom sink. It has only been 5 months since I payed for a plumber to unclog the sink and fix another problem in the bathroom (why didn't I think to have him take out the GD???). This time I want to tackle it myself. I have no plumbing experience but I am generally handy. My first thought was to try cleaning the trap and then put a strainer in the sink so it doesn't get plugged again. But I think it would be even better to just remove the GD and replumb it? How difficult a job is that? Any hints or suggestions for replumbing or for unclogging?
Thanks!
Dee

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Permanent removal of a garbage disposal

Does "non-functioning" mean it won't grind, or just that the water won't go down? If it won't grind, use the hex wrench and insert from underneath to loosen. If it's humming but not turning, see if there is a reset button underneath and push it.

Easiest would be to get it working again, then use a strainer into the drain.

Second easiest, if the water is just not draining, would be to clear it. Buy a snake, loosen and remove the trap, and insert, feed it, turn, etc. (You may need a 12" adjustable, channellock type wrench to turn the nuts for the trap). It will likely be smelly and messy, so remove everything from the cabinet. Not a bad idea to temporarily lay some newspaper in there, too.