Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
chibimimi

Bad fittings?

chibimimi
10 years ago

I am an amateur, so I may not use the right terms or give the right details.

We did a major remodel five years ago -- remodeled kitchen, new bath, walls torn out and plumbing re-done. Since then, several of the plumbing joints have failed and spewed water all over the house. They were all on the hot-water lines. Most, if not all, have been T-joints of the same size.

The failed joints were crumbly and fell apart. The (new) plumber and the contractor who did the original work both said they had never seen anything like it. They suggested that our water was the cause. It is well water, and on the acidic side, and had a water treatment system for the past two years. However, the unremodelled part of the house (about 25 years old) has not had the same problem. Also, lots of other homes in the area use well water, not all with a treatment system.

Is it really possible that the well water could have done this? Or is it equally possible that it was a bad batch of fittings?

Comments (9)

• randy427
    10 years ago

I've seen some poor quality copper fittings in the past few years, but nothing that bad. Mostly along the lines of loose tolerances.
    Did your plumber give you the bad fittings? Were they brittle to the point of cracking when struck by a hammer?

• bus_driver
    10 years ago

The original post does not identify the piping material nor that of the fittings.
    Is this a serious quest for help?

• chibimimi
    Original Author
    10 years ago

Several thousand dollars worth of damage and a lot of disruption is indeed serious. I am sorry that you missed the part of my original post when I said I might not give the right details. Thank you for helping identify what those are.