Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
julieschrader

Please help with water softener!

Jules
9 years ago

Update: results from water lab added below.

We're building a new house with a well and need a water softener. I have no knowledge in this area and am thoroughly confused, so your help would be most appreciated!

I've met with two water treatment reps so far (EcoWater and Hague) and will meet with a third (Kinetico) this week.

We have three three-piece bathrooms, one four-piece bathroom, two clothes washers, one dishwasher, two ice makers, water lines in two refrigerators, an outdoor shower and a hot tub. Three people will live in the house full time, but we expect lots of house guests during the summer months.

Pricing I've been given including equipment, installation, starter salt and tax:
EcoWater ECR3502R40 - $1489
Hague Watermax 62AMQ1 - $2395

Any feedback or recommendations on the info I've been given so far?
Should I also consider a Fleck water softener?

This post was edited by jujubean71 on Mon, May 19, 14 at 13:27

Comments (6)

• User
    9 years ago

The wild discrepancy in hardness numbers from the two reps you have seen so far is precisely why you need your own independent water test from a reputable lab. Your state's web site should have a list of certified water labs from which to choose. You want to know: pH, TDS, hardness, iron, manganese, sulfates, nitrates, VOC, bacteria, and any other items recommended or required by your state - different areas have different issues and concerns so will make somewhat different testing recommendations. If you take a look at a sample of the water in a clear glass container, does it have any color?, odor, particulates? Once you have that information, I can make a recommendation. Until that time, nobody can make a reliable recommendation.