Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
diyourselfer_gw

I need a torch to sweat copper pipes...

diyourselfer
16 years ago

....I am new to this and I need a torch. Should I get propane or mapp? Do I get this:

http://www.lowes.com/lowes/lkn?action=productDetail&productId=88427-000000717-TS4000MZ&lpage=none

or this:

http://www.lowes.com/lowes/lkn?action=productDetail&productId=77463-000000717-JTH7&lpage=none

The first one has the trigger but the second one looks like it may be easier to use in tight places since it has the hose...but no on off trigger so a flint is needed.

Also,

What kind of solder, paste and sandpaper will I need?

Thanks in advance,

Joe

Comments (12)

• randy427
    16 years ago
    last modified: 9 years ago

As for propane vs. mapp, if you are working with 1/2" or 3/4" copper tubing, propane should be adequate. Mapp is hotter, and that can make the work go faster.
    As for the hose or a nozzle attached to the cylinder, it depends partially on how much room you have to work in. With a hose, you can work in tighter places without as much restriction on movement and accessability. As long as my flint starter is within reach, I don't mind not having a trigger operated starter.
    For water supply, use lead-free solder and solder paste that states it is for lead-free solder. I use a medium steel wool,or, alternatively, 'plumber's roll' (in the plumbing supply aisle, it's about a 120 grit wet-dry emery cloth about 1-1/2" wide and a few yards long).
    There are also round wire brushes for preping the inside of fittings for soldering. Get one for the size you are working with.

• lazypup
    16 years ago