Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
wynswrld98

Navien or Takagi Flash T-H1 Tankless Gas Water Heater?

Wayne Reibold
14 years ago

I'm looking for a high efficiency gas tankless hot water heater. I've come across Navien which makes 98% efficient and the Takagi Flash T-H1 which is 92% efficient but I'm totally new to tankless water heaters and am curious if anyone has experience with either of these and can share some opinions.

I'm wondering how reliable tankless water heaters of these types I mention are.

Any reviews, feedback or tips would be greatly appreciated.

Comments (20)

• jake2007
    14 years ago

To begin with, use the energy factor as your guide rather than the manufacturer's "efficiency rating".

Heaters with an EF of 0.82 or better qualify for the federal tax credit. That's a floor that I would use.

Once you get closer to an EF of about 0.9 you are looking at a condensing unit. These are more expensive for the heater itself than the .82 heaters - but they can vent with plastic pipe rather than Stainless Steel. Venting with plastic pipe (PVC) can be a huge savings if you don't have a short flue run. The difference in energy factor alone doesn't ever pay back the additional cost of the condensing unit over the .82 unit - but the savings in venting can.

Takagi has a good reputation. It would not be a bad choice. Navien is a little bit newer to the market and more innovative. Some of their units include a buffer tank and a circulating pump. Apples-Apples, I think they also cost less than most other condensing tankless heaters. The problem is that they don't have the reputation... it's not that they have a bad rep, it's that they are too new to have a good rep.

I would like to see Navien take off and do well-- but I don't have any feedback from people who have used them.

If you have a short flue run, consider a 0.82 unit from a reputable company (not Bosch). I have the Rheem unit and have been very happy with it both in quality and value.

• zl700