Return to the Plumbing Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
bathtub drain stopper

Posted by karkalec (My Page) on
Mon, Apr 25, 11 at 20:28

Hi There,

I'm a total amateur and am trying to get my tub drain to stop water so my little girl can take a bath. I removed the face plate and there was no part of an old linkage assembly behind it except a cotter pin left over. I stuck a coat hanger down in the hole and could fish out nothing, although I did get the coat hanger stuck for a few heart-stopping seconds.

This morning I bought a Danco tub drain linkage assembly at Home Depot. I noticed it was the only option they had and assumed they were standard size for that reason. When I tried it out it did not stop the flow of the water out of the drain. I tried adjusting it to various lengths including making it as long as possible so I could feel it resting on the bottom of the pipe (it went in very smoothly and I couldn't feel any parts of the old assembly down there when I was feeding it in). Water still drains out of the tub regardless of where the drain stopper is. Anybody have any idea why this is so?

Thanks!

Justin

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: bathtub drain stopper

Justin -

I'm assuming you have a fiberglass tub. Doesn't really matter though... You have already stated that the control for the Drain/Fill is not working.

Unless you have access to the bottom, and the front of the tub - you are NOT going to fix that. The portion which the stopper goes into - has a nut underneath it; and a flange on the top - it is then screwed (literally) onto the tub. Sealant is applied to the bottom during installation - so that it does not leak. And then a drain pipe and controls connect to all of that; including the pipe holding the control to pop up or close the drain...

Since your tub does not have a working stopper... First, make sure the tub stopper area is clean and smooth.