Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
michelledt

1 Larger or 2 Smaller Water Heaters

MichelleDT
12 years ago

I am new to the plumbing forum and looking for guidance on water heater options. We are building a new home and I am not sure what direction to go for hot water. There are two us who take showers in the AM (one after the other) and there will be a deep soaking tub (more than 50 gallons) that will be used frequently. In our current home, we have a 50 gallon heater and one of us ends up with a shorter shower to avoid lukewarm/cold water. I can't fill the tub without running out of hot water.

I want to avoid this in the new house and the builder is suggesting two 50 gallon water heaters rather than one larger heater.

What is the best way to go? Is one option less expensive/better than the other?

I mentioned a tankless system for the Master bath but the builder looked at me like a deer caught in headlights. His standard according to him is 2 50 gallon tanks and he has never had a client request a tankless or anything other than 2 50's or so he says.

Thanks for the guidance.

Michelle

Comments (43)

• Ozone89
    12 years ago

First you have to tell us if your house is going to be electric -gas - propane.

How many people live in the home?

If you have natural gas, Bradford white makes a High performance water heater. They have 2 models if I'm correct 25 gallon which delivers 155 gallons of hot water the first hour and a 55 gallon which delivers 200 gallons of hot water the first hour.

Or you can go with a 75 gallon gas water heater.