Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
monsoon99_gw

Help with whole house water softner system

monsoon99
10 years ago

Again and again I have turned to the generous folk on gardenweb to help me with costly decisions about which I have little knowledge. So here I am again:

We live in Southern California (Pasadena area) and 3 years ago built a new house and are already seeing damages to glass shower doors, chrome faucets, staining of marble and granite and the list goes on. My concern is mainly this issue which I think is excessive calcium deposits?? I know very little about water softners just that I think I need to get one.

My general philosophy is to spend the money if I have to but get something that works well and requires little maintenance from me. I deeply regret not having installed a system to address this problem when we were doing the construction but there's nothing I can do about that. I have read some of the posts and the valuable advise provided by justalurker and asolo but it is still very unclear and the information is too technical. I do understand however that the first thing I need to do is get my water tested and provide info on our family's water consumption? Can someone tell me how to do these and get started? Thanks.

Comments (5)

• AliceHasLeftTheBuilding
    10 years ago

First of all, are you on city water or a well? If you are city water, you can get your city's quarterly or annual water report. It may contain all the information you need.

If you have a private well, you can look on your state's website for certified drinking water labs. Contact the one closest to you and ask them about sampling protocols. They will have standard analysis sets for well water. Just make sure that you get, at minimum, the following:

pH, TDS, total hardness, iron, manganese, sulfides, nitrates, bacteria, turbidity.

Once you have the info, post it here, and we can help. You will also need to provide:

1. Number of people in your home