Return to the Plumbing Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Tankless Water Heater Inlet Size Question

Posted by Glargle (My Page) on
Mon, Apr 28, 14 at 15:59

We have decided on purchasing the Rinnai RU98i tankless water heater (natural gas). Our builder has told us that we have to have a 1/2" gas inlet. However, this model has a 3/4" inlet.

I checked another brand it, too, has a 3/4" inlet. I've also briefly searched and learned that a reducer can be placed. However, the builder said that it will reduce the flow.

I have no plumbing background (clearly) and was wondering if anyone can help me understand what direction I need to go.

Thanks!

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Tankless Water Heater Inlet Size Question

You need a MINIMUM 3/4" gas pipe running from the meter all the way to the heater. The longer the run, and the more branches before the water heater, the more likely the main gas line needs to be oversized to 1" A reducer will not suffice. Adequate gas service is essential for this concept to work.

o

Ok, I've learned more. We have a 1" line running from the meter through the basement. The 1/2" lines split off the 1" line. The builder, who admits that he has not researched it and is only relaying info, suggested Navien as the brand to go for so that we can use a 1/2" line. Does this seem ok? I still feel as if the person who ran the line should have run a 3/4" line to the tankless water heater.

o

Call RINNAI, it's their warranty.

o

No tankless gas water heater I'm aware of uses 1/2" gas line.

Please get someone who knows what they are doing to do this for you. Your builder is not that person.

Look, I have a tankless myself. I think they are great. But they've gotten a bad reputation because people like your builder don't understand how to size or install them.

If your builder is telling you 1/2" gas line he has absolutely no idea what he's doing.

This post was edited by jakethewonderdog on Mon, Apr 28, 14 at 23:01

o