Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
glargle

Tankless Water Heater Inlet Size Question

glargle
9 years ago

We have decided on purchasing the Rinnai RU98i tankless water heater (natural gas). Our builder has told us that we have to have a 1/2" gas inlet. However, this model has a 3/4" inlet.

I checked another brand it, too, has a 3/4" inlet. I've also briefly searched and learned that a reducer can be placed. However, the builder said that it will reduce the flow.

I have no plumbing background (clearly) and was wondering if anyone can help me understand what direction I need to go.

Thanks!

Comments (24)

• glargle
    Original Author
    9 years ago

Ok, I've learned more. We have a 1" line running from the meter through the basement. The 1/2" lines split off the 1" line. The builder, who admits that he has not researched it and is only relaying info, suggested Navien as the brand to go for so that we can use a 1/2" line. Does this seem ok? I still feel as if the person who ran the line should have run a 3/4" line to the tankless water heater.

• snoonyb
    9 years ago

Call RINNAI, it's their warranty.

• jakethewonderdog
    9 years ago

No tankless gas water heater I'm aware of uses 1/2" gas line.

Please get someone who knows what they are doing to do this for you. Your builder is not that person.

Look, I have a tankless myself. I think they are great. But they've gotten a bad reputation because people like your builder don't understand how to size or install them.

If your builder is telling you 1/2" gas line he has absolutely no idea what he's doing.

This post was edited by jakethewonderdog on Mon, Apr 28, 14 at 23:01

• jakethewonderdog
    9 years ago

In what city are you located (trying to understand how cold your water is). Also, how many people in your family, how many bathrooms?

If you have 2 or more bathrooms, get the 199,000 btu/hour unit - from any manufacturer you want. Esp if you live in cold weather climate.