Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
neo_one

Comments on EcoWater please

neo.one
18 years ago

Hello,

I am looking into a water system for my home. This involves a softener and an RO unit. I am still making my way reading through the threads (and will continue reading after this post) and this whole area of softeners seems to be touchy. I apologize in bringing up the topic again but I am a newbie in this area and needed some specific comments.

So far, we've only had one quote from an EcoWater company. They recommended the ERR3002 (like this one but with a separate brine tank, at least I think that is what it is) for the water softening and the ERO R350 for the RO system. The estimate came to be 4000+ and although we do not mind paying for a good system, that price seems excessive. This comes with a lifetime warranty on the units, 10yr warranty on the electronics, installation of the softener (to code), RO to the sink and fridge, and a hose bib outside.

The things we like about the system also are:

- Regeneration is measured vs timed.

- Supposed low maintenance. Salt replacement is about 12 months. RO filters replaced about once a year. RO membrane about once every 3 years.

- Small foot print of softener. The water line is in a single car garage and it has to fit on the side of the garage while allowing the car to be parked. The softener is 14"x14" and the additional brine tank is 16"x16".

I know there will be questions on water quality, pipe sizes, and flow but I don't have those numbers yet. This is a brand new house. The builder would not plumb for a softener so everything has to be done afterwards

The EcoWater guy says the hardness is 13. All we know is that the water leaves spots, is rough on our skins, tastes terrible, and ice comes out smoky. We lived with a similar situation in our previous home with constant wiping down of everything near water. Although it minimizes spotting, the cleaning does not eliminate it.