Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
goofyyno

shower question

goofyyno
12 years ago

I have a problem with my master shower which I�m hoping is an easy , ohh that�s a valve problem you can fix yourself.

The issue is when I turn the water on, after it heats up, I only get hot water- even when the handle (one handle system) is turned all the way to the left. (or enough so water actually comes out). sometimes if I turn it all the way to the right (on full hot) for 1 a minute or so, then back to cold, it will reset and work properly. it is a 10 y/o house, and this has been only happening for about a year.

If this seems like a relatively easy fix, I want to do it. if not I�ve lived with it for a while.

Comments (7)

• _sophiewheeler
    12 years ago

You've got bigger problems that replacing the mixing valve if your hot is on the right and your cold is on the left. Yes, your mixing valve is failing and you will need to replace it. Do you have an access panel from the back side of the shower? If not, tearing out some tile is in your future. And fix the reversed hot/cold while you are at it.

• User
    12 years ago

It sounds to me like you need to replace your valve cartridge. It's really not that difficult to do. Basically, you turn off your water (to the house or the shut-off to the shower if you have one), remove the cover plate, remove the faucet handle, pull out the valve (some have a set screw, some have a set pin to pull, some just screw out), pop the new one in, replace handle and cover, start water and enjoy. Typically the only tool required will be a screwdriver, possibly a wrench.

If you know the brand, you can usually find instructions on the individual manufacturer's website. Valve stems for common valves are readily available at places like Home Depot or Lowes or your local plumbing supply.

• goofyyno
    Original Author
    12 years ago

Can I pick AIW's answer?