Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
mandypark77

fleck 5600 sxt or fleck 7000 sxt

mandypark77
9 years ago

Hello,

I am very new to this forum and have been scouring the posts trying to find the answers to my questions, so as not to be annoyingly redundant. We purchased a house that already had a Hague Watermax installed. We knew nothing about water softeners when we moved in and just left it at the original settings, only adding salt when it got low. The softener is now DOA and we find ourselves miserable without it.

I have no knowledge of plumbing, but my husband has some basic knowledge. He is going to install the softener, but it is up to me to do all the research to insure we get the correct one.

Here is some information that I hope will be helpful to anyone willing to help me.

# of people in household: 5
# of bathrooms: 2

TDS: 540ppm
pH: 8.1
Hardness: 15gpg
No iron is listed on the report from the wd
Hose bib: 10 gpm

Here is the report from my water district:
http://irwd.com/images/pdf/water-sewer/IRWD2014WQR.pdf

I am trying to decide between the Fleck 5600 SXT 48,000 Grain Capacity or the Fleck 7000 SXT 48,000. I know that both are 1.50 cu. ft. so I'm really hoping that someone can point me in the right direction, as for what would be a good choice and what the main differences between the two are.

I'm sorry for any repeat questions and please let me know of any additional information you may need to answer my questions.

Thank you in advance for taking the time to help me!

Comments (16)

• User
    9 years ago

1.5 cuft will be small. You want a 2.0 cuft softener. Either controller will work, but the 5600 would be at the upper specified limit for tank size. Since price difference is minimal, I would go with the 7000sxt.

• mandypark77
    Original Author
    9 years ago

Alice,