Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
rmtdoug_gw

Anyone here re-plumb their entire house?

rmtdoug
9 years ago

I'm doing a whole house remodel myself on a 100-year-old house. My goal this year is to replace all the waste and water lines. The main stack is cast iron and the water supply is galvanized. House is two stories, two bedroom, 1500-ish sf. The upstairs bath sits above the kitchen, which sits above the laundry in the basement. 90% of the house's plumbing is in one 6 inch wet wall from basement to attic that is about five feet long. The laundry/HW is in the corner of the basement where the main stack comes down.

I'm a retired finish carpenter with 30 years experience but my only plumbing experience is not much more than setting toilets and hooking up sinks, etc. I've worked with ABS and PVC a little here and there enough that it doesn't scare me, anyway. I'm willing to hire a plumber for the waste lines, but I would like to do the water supply myself in pex if possible.

Should I try to pull this off myself or what do I need to know before hiring a plumber and how much might I expect to spend? I'm going to replace everything with plastic. I would like to re-use the cast iron but it's been hacked on before and I feel it would be best to start from scratch from the basement upwards.

Any advice or questions I should be asking before I take the plunge? I will be pulling a permit for this work.

Thanks,
Doug

Comments (14)

• bus_driver
    9 years ago

Your post is understood. It is highly likely that all of the existing cast iron DWV piping that is vertical, 45 degrees or more to the horizontal, will be in virtually perfect condition as the effluents quickly flow away and do not pool in the vertical portion of the pipe. Horizontal cast iron sometimes deteriorates faster depending on the slope and the nature of the waste.

• rmtdoug
    Original Author
    9 years ago