Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
kwarner16

Water Softener and Possible RO unit

Kathy W 16
12 years ago

Hi everyone, I am new to this all though I have tried to read as much as I can I am still in need of some expert advice. We are looking to buy a water softener we are trying to decide between the Fleck 9100 SXT Twin Tank to be purchased online and buying a local Watts PWSYS-WH-SOFT-PRO SE-30K. Any advice would be greatly appreciated.

This what we know about our water.

We on on a well 27 G.P.G. T.D.S. 450 PH 7.5

We will have a 2 BA home with 2 adults.

Thanks for the help.

Kathy

Comments (18)

• justalurker
    12 years ago

Any intelligent discussion of water treatment begins with the results of a comprehensive water test and with well water the tests should be by a certified independent lab.

So, let's see... well water, 27gpg hardness, TDS 450, PH 7.5, 2 baths, 2 adults

How about... iron, manganese, sodium, nitrates, bacteria, chlorine, copper?

• Kathy W 16
    Original Author
    12 years ago

Thanks justalurker, I will see about finding a independant lab to test the water do you have any suggestions on how to go about finding one? We live in the country so I am sure it will probably have to be sent out.
    Thanks again

• justalurker
    12 years ago

Call county, municipal, or state environmental heath departments and see if they have any recommendations for labs. Also colleges or universities nearby.

You can Google well water testing and stand back...

• andy_c
    12 years ago

I agree. A little more knowledge about your water would be helpful. You numbers don't chime very well...at least your TDS. You hardness alone has more TDS than your current total.

Anyway, I would recommend a twin-tank design for best performance and consistency. You will appreciate the longer life and efficiency and allowing for unusual water usage.