Return to the Photography Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Nikon D3000 help

Posted by gulf_pirate2009 (My Page) on
Mon, Oct 12, 09 at 9:28

I purchased a Nikon D3000 last week. I read the owners manual several times and finally had a chance to take it out, charge the battery, and take a few pictures. I have been using it in auto mode since I am still learning about photography. Several of my pictures have been very blurry and not the quality that I hoped for. This is my first "real" camera. My pervious cameras were simple point and shoot and very simple to use. Is there anything that I can do to improve the quality of the pictures? Also, the description of the camera stated that there is no delay when you press the shoot button. Mine has a delay. Is it because of autofocus trying to adjust?

Thanks in advance.
Byron

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Nikon D3000 help

I will have to see pics and exif data to better help.

You sure did make a big purhase for a first time camera.

There should be no delay, no offense but it might be something your doing, maybe not.

Joe

o

Thanks Joe, I'm sure it is something I'm doing. I just can't figure it out. I deleted most of the blurred pictures I took. While reading the manual on the lens, it said that the vibration reduction mode does not activate when the camera is in auto-flash.
I'll try to post a few tonight. I still need to sign in on photobucket to load my images.

o

Hi, Byron. After you are armed with Joe's advice, in addition to studying your manual you might want to spend some time reading posts at DPReview's Nikon forums. You can gain a lot of information that way. DPR actually has several Nikon forums; I don't know which one is for the D3000, but here's one to get you started:

Nikon D300-D100 Forum

And here's a popular forum for beginner's questions. Believe me, some of the questions from those "beginners" are not all that basic!

Beginners' Questions Forum