Return to the Photography Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
I Have a Nikon D70 DSLR? Questions

Posted by fivethree (My Page) on
Wed, Sep 4, 13 at 15:07

Hello Im new to this kind of camera and I'm going to be honest this is so overwhelming to me and this thing is huge? My husband bought it for me when it came out I think when 2005 or 2006 but this is my first time using it? I know that sounds silly but it's true, I've always just had a user friendly digital camera but my question is can I take a class to learn this camera and does it take nice clear photos? Sorry if I sound like an idiot but I'm clueless to what this DSLR can do? I may sell it because I'm not sure if I will ever really use it. Id like to take photos of my kids and shots of flowers in our garden etc...Guess my husband was saying I needed a hobby(not sure why I was busy raising 5 kiddos!) But anyway is there a guide or someone out there that can lead me in this type of camera? We have never used it and I'm ready now LOL

Thanks for your time

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: I Have a Nikon D70 DSLR? Questions

Hi

I got my first DSLR about 6 months ago. Youtube has TONS of tutorials, and they are all FREE! Check out your community for meet-up groups involved in DSLR cameras. Just google: DSLR meet up groups in....whatever town you live in. We just attended two different free classes yesterday that I found online, both basic/beginner/intermediate use friendly. Play with your camera...a lot! Read the manual. Ack...that was not my favorite thing to do.
One of the things I learned yesterday, was to not rely on my LCD screen. Use the viewfinder.