Return to the Photography Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
New Here... introduction

Posted by colorsofspring (My Page) on
Sun, Aug 3, 08 at 19:13

Hello- I am new to the photography forum. I have been dabbling in photography for a few years, mostly just pictures of my children, but lately I try to incorporate my love of nature with portraits of my kids.
I have no formal training, but dream of being able to sell my work someday.
I would like to share some of what I have created here, but does everyone copyright their images before posting? I'd be afraid of people stealing my stuff!

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: New Here... introduction

but does everyone copyright their images before posting? I'd be afraid of people stealing my stuff!

Copyright is automatic..whether people respect that is something else.
You would have to make a filing of copyright to enable you to take any legal action.
You could watermark your pictures before posting.
Although the watermark can be removed with a little effort.
Bottom line...if you don't want them stolen, don't post them.

o

Just don't post your first pictures of Brad and Angelina's twins and you should be okay. All joking aside, I wouldn't post something on a public board that I didn't want others to feel free having. I suggest you do the same. If you don't like the idea of someone pretending that your pictures are theirs, watermark them. You can also embed metadata into a .jpg file if you ever need to prove ownership.

Klaa2

o
you just can't win

I think Irfanview, for one, can remove metadata from pics

o

Yup, there are many ways to add data and remove data. Nothing is totally safe. Let's not broadcast it though. Thanks.

o

Hi Colorsofspring and welcomed....I have also heard if you reduce the size to 400-500, longest side...That if anybody wants to copy and enlarge it...it would be pixelated and not show good quality...

o

Welcome colorofspring.

Ron

o