Return to the Photography Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Some Basic Digital Camera questions

Posted by txtom50 (My Page) on
Wed, Jul 6, 11 at 6:06

I have a Kodak easyshare C183, 14 mp camera. I've been using it for a couple of months and am finally smart enough to ask some questions.

I email a lot of pics, but always wind up reducing the size so as not to be sending really large pics. Is it better to shoot the original at 10-14 mp and then reduce the pics, or shoot at 1 or 2 mp?

Why is there such a delay after taking the picture until the camera is ready to shoot again? I have the camera set to record to the 2 gb SD card. Somebody told me there are different kinds of SD cards - all I've seen in the store are SD and high capacity SD.

What's a good picture size to use for posting on forums like gardenweb?

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Some Basic Digital Camera questions

Hi Tom and welcome to the Photography forum.

I have no personal experience with your camera so I opted to call up a copy of the owners manual to check some of the specifications, and I must say, for a point & shoot camera I was very impressed.

I will try to take your questions in order and I am sure others will follow with even more information.

Q: "Is it better to shoot the original at 10-14 mp and then reduce the pics, or shoot at 1 or 2 mp?"

A:..Digital cameras record pictures by breaking them down into microfine dots of colored light, then recording the position of those dots. The term MP (mega pixels) is defining how many million dots per inch that is actually being recorded. In photography we refer to the quality of the detail as the "Resolution" of the picture. In a nutshell, the more MP that are recorded by your camera, the finer the detail it records.

The question then becomes, how many MP do I need?