Return to the Photography Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
advice on what to buy

Posted by sandtag1 (My Page) on
Tue, Jun 2, 09 at 21:02

I am new at using slr I have been looking at a nikon d 40 but I have no idea what to buy.

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: advice on what to buy

I'm in the market too and it will be a Nikon, not sure on what model yet either. I'm going to end up going to a camera store to look, my biggest requirement is to be able to use a viewfinder/monitor to adjust the photo verses the eyepiece.

o

Go to the Nikon user sites (dpreview.com), maybe at stevesdigicams.com, and see what owners have to say. then decide what you want in a camera and what you can afford.

Good luck!
JoanMN (a Canon fan!).

o

Thank you

o

I shoot with Canon myself but that has a lot to do with my investment of a few thousand dollars in several lenses from the film days which still work on my digital SLR. Check out kenrockwell.com he says the Nikon D-40 is the best for your money; just read some of his reviews on all of the various cameras; including the nikon.

o
Also need suggestions for new camera

I currently have a Nikon 7900 (Point and Shoot) that is no longer functioning to full capacity. I also have an old Pentax ME SLR film camera with a couple of lenses and filters.

I like my little camera that fits in my purse, but I also miss the fun I had with my Pentax SLR.

I think maybe I might want two cameras. Maybe a water and shock resistant Olympus and something else??? It would be nice if I could utilize my old Pentax lenses. Picture quality and color are very important to me.

Any suggestions are welcome. Thank you. Deb

The things I don't like about my Nikon 7900 are: it doesn't focus well in low light and doesn't allow me to select the aperture or shutter speed.

The thing I don't like about my Pentax ME: film is too expensive for all the practicing I need to do.

o