SHOP PRODUCTS
Houzz Logo Print
zitro_joe

Be prepared! Having a camera does not...

zitro_joe
13 years ago

...make you a good wedding photographer.

I am no pro, do I want to be- YES! However, I do not make my living off photography.

Many of us want to help others that cannot afford the "pro" prices. We step in offering our help at a decent-to-low price. That was the way I started. When you are offering your services, be prepared!

Why I bring this up. This afternoon, my younger cousin was was married. I knew that he was having a friend do the photos. This is not the first time this has happened at a wedding I was attending. At my sisters wedding the photog (friend doing a favor) FORGOT HER BATTERIES. I lent her mine. Another cousin had a wedding and the photog only used the camera in Auto, no flash. Didn't know how to pose people. My Aunt asked me to step in , I even ended up showing the photog how to use her camera.

Okay, back to the wedding from today. I brought my stuff because my brother asked me to take some family photos of them later this week- sure thing. While packing my supplies for my brother, I had a voice tell me that this photog for this wedding would be unprepared. Not knowing, what she/he would be shooting with, I brought several items from the three brands I own. Good thing. She ended needing to use my extra batteries, SDHC cards and one of my lenses that opened up wide enough for the dark light. I made her sign a letter stating she was responsible for anything that broke. I put the price of each item and she kinda freaked at the total. I asked if she was getting paid and she said yes...oh boy.

If you plan to do a wedding; things about this:

Bring extra of everything. Cards, batteries (buy good, reliable batteries) Its a wedding, that means something will go wrong. Be prepared.