Return to the Photography Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
What is your creative process/steps ?

Posted by mmkmmk (My Page) on
Tue, Apr 1, 08 at 20:07

I am new to the digital world, but I have always loved photography.

I feel very "uncoordinated" in the steps AFTER I take a photo. We just came back from Hawaii and I am trying to get organized on the steps I need to take. I feel like there must be an easier way then what I am thinking - I haven't attempted it yet, and maybe I am making it harder than it has to be. (?)

I have the photos in a file in "my photos". Out of the 150 or so, I need to go through and delete any of the ones that I know I don't want to keep.

Then I need to decide which ones I will print. I use Costco - not a home printer. I will be enlarging some to frame.

Would I put them all in a file in Photoshop and go throught them and edit them, then when it comes to Costco do I take them from the photoshop file? I hope you know what I mean when I say I just don't know in what order I should do things, so that I am not duplicating steps. I feel like this is taking me soooo long to do.

Do I only use Photoshop on the ones that I am editing? Then I would have 2 files and that seems awkward and difficult to keep straight.

So I am interested in how you organize yourself.

Thanks!

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: What is your creative process/steps ?

I normally just use MS Office Picture Manager that comes with MS Office 2003 package. I like this tool because it's simple and easy for editing. It also allows you to crop, compress, resize and rename files in batches.

Then, I would burn the selected photos on a CD and just bring it to a local 1-hour photo for prints.

Be awared that some of their machines don't like file names that are not continous or have some of these: *, &, %, #, etc.. In other words, if you rename the jpg files, use only alphabets and numbers and run them together without any spacing.

o