Return to the Photography Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
?'s about photo quality on new camera

Posted by superchick (My Page) on
Mon, Mar 24, 08 at 23:37

This is my first time on this forum (I'm usually over at the home/decorating forums!)and hope that someone can help me. I recently replaced an expensive Sony digital camera (it got stolen) with a compact Canon elph 800IS. I realize that I won't get the same quality as I had with the bigger camera, but I was expecting a little bit better results that I seem to be getting. When I download pics onto my computer, they don't seem very sharp. I've tried changing some settings, but they all look pretty much the same. Most all the pics I've taken so far are indoors, of my home. I'm just not very satisfied with the sharpness-can someone help me or am I expecting too much from this little camera? Thanks!

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: ?'s about photo quality on new camera

Any way that you can post one or two of the problem images?

Or if you dont have the time or place to store them to post, email me a couple at: ashelton1980@comcast.net and I can stick em up here for ya so others can offer theories and suggestions.

It helps to actually SEE the image...

My first thought would be "Do you have the image stabilization turned on?". Ive gotten so used to a bigger camera, that I shake like a caffeinated chihuahua when I use my small sony P&S camera...

Anywho, hopefully we can see a pic soon, and get ya helped! :P

A

o

What Ash said. Make sure the IS is on with little cameras they are harder to hold steady.

Also, my Canon has an indoor setting. You might want to check that one out since it seems to be your main use (if yours has it). The pre-sets for lower light, etc might make a big difference.

o