Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
dingoaint

Are doggie doors OK?

Fori
14 years ago

Dog newbie here--we're still contemplating getting a dog and trying to work through the issues we're going to run into ahead of time.

We do intend to crate train and I'm reading how people train their dogs to let them know when they need to be let out. Is there any reason to not let a (house and yard trained) dog have dog-door access to a safe, fenced backyard? We are thinking of allowing the dog full backyard access but limiting house access to the rooms we spend a lot of time in (but not kitchen, bedrooms, garage).

We have pretty good weather year round, if that matters.

Y'all have given great advice already and I appreciate your thoughts on doggie doors! Thanks!

Comments (32)

• weed30 St. Louis
    14 years ago

Doggie doors are great! I had one in my old house, and it was nice for all concerned that the dogs could go out whenever they wanted.

The negatives:

1. Depending on the dog, they can drag in mud and other interesting things like dead critters.

2. Other animals can get in your house. I only experienced that one time, and it was another dog, but I've heard of wild critters wondering in.

3. You can open yourself up to intruders. You'd be surprised how small of an opening someone can get through. this is probably rare, but not unheard of.

Overall, the benefits outweigh the negatives to me. The biggest one was dirt/mud, but mine opened up into the vinyl floored kitchen at the time, so cleanup was simple, and I had the kitchen gated so they couldn't get to the rest of the house.

• Fori
    Original Author
    14 years ago

Thanks, Weed. We've had cats in the past so we're rather familiar with 1 and 2. (Except the animals in 1 weren't always dead...)