Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
guatnut

Need thoughts

guatnut
12 years ago

We have been treating our 14 year old lab for diabetes for 2 years now, along with other health problems. He is on lasix, enacard, and thyroid meds along with the insulin shots twice a day. He has a special diet that we follow. My husband and I cannot go anywhere overnight together because one of us has to give him his injections am and pm. Needless to say, this has become very expensive. My husband lost his job and I am a bus driver. Snap is up several times each night and I am the one that has to let him in and out due to my husband being partially deaf. I love Snap but I am exhausted and getting worried about how long I can support him. I don't know what the right thing to do is. I think you know what I'm getting at. Any feedback will be appreciated. Thanks for reading this.

Comments (8)

• Ninapearl
    12 years ago

you know, this is always a very hard decision to make. i recently lost my 10 year old great dane girl. i *could* have kept her going longer but her quality of life was beginning to become compromised as well as her dignity. i agonized over this decision for weeks. i lived my life around this old girl for the last year. oftentimes, i came home to messes in the house and i can't even count the number of times i was shampooing carpets at 1 a.m. i completely understand the "exhaustion" part. ashley was the most special dog in the world to me, always will be. but, the freedom i have now has been a welcome relief to me. nobody could blame you if you decide to lay your old boy to rest. at 14, he has lived and long and happy life with you.