Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
darenka

Typical English Bulldog Personality?

darenka
14 years ago

I've read the breed temperment, I'm just curious to hear from people who have really been around them as I have no experience with this breed.

My soft-hearted husband wants to help out a coworker and take in his 2-year-old male English Bulldog for a month. I'm concerned because the owner doesn't want to invest 4 hours (2 in drive time) to see if his dog gets along with mine. From what I've read, they can be dog aggressive and quite dominant. Of course the owner says that the dog is without flaw, but I'm sure we've all heard that before. I have an 11-year-old lab-mix orthopedic disaster (hip and ACL replacements). He's my alpha, but his struggling with sore joints and I'm afraid a dominant dog will make him miserable. The other two are young enough and healthy enough that I don't have real concerns about them. The fact that the owner doesn't want to come out sets off every alarm bell. DH claims he's just busy and it's a nice dog. DH never met a dog he didn't like. So, do you think I'm being an alarmist? What is your experience with the breed?

Comments (8)

• mazer415
    14 years ago

I think you are the only snae voice in a situation which might cost you thousands and some heartbreak. First thing, is the EB fixed? Has it been socialized? Has your husband spent any time with the dog, has he seen the EB with other dogs in a neutral territory? Is the EB food aggressive? Last thing you want is to commit to caring for another persons dog and in order to keep things sane and safe you have to toss the dog in the garage for the entire time you are in charge.
    SO...Find out if it is fixed, spendt time with the dog so you can SEE that it is not dog aggressive or food aggressive - make sure it does not guard its toys or bedding etc.