Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
ashlee_mariemusic

My cat won't eat

Ashlee-MarieMusic
10 years ago

Hey guys, I'm new to this page and I found it while searching for answers about why my cat won't eat. It's been a little over a week now since my 10 year old cat has just stopped eating completely and hardly drinking. I know he's up there in age but the fact that it just happened over night basically concerns me. He used to be a big cat weighing in around 30-40 pounds... now he's half that. All he does is sleep ALL day... maybe uses the litter box once every couple days (#1 not #2) and I have to wake him up and set him in front of his water bowl to drink. And the other day I picked up a can of tuna and he has been nibbling on that every 6 hours or so. I have also caught him eating his kitty litter. Like I said, I know he's old and him losing a few pounds probably isn't such a bad thing, but i'm just worried something else is wrong with him. I've tried taking him to the vet but I don't have the $500 they want up front so I'm left here feeling like a bad animal parent because my cat is sick and I am doing what I can to take care of him. If anyone has any ideas, please let me know!!!

Comments (9)

• cat_mom
    10 years ago

You need to get him to a vet, and if yours will only look at your cat AFTER you pay $500 up front, then you need to try to find another vet. At the very least, your cat needs to be examined. You can discuss different diagnostic test options, and perhaps billing/payment options as well during the exam.

• spedigrees z4VT
    10 years ago