Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
paprikash

Liptospirosis Vaccine

paprikash
10 years ago

I'm new to this forum and I'm new to puppy motherhood. I have a 12 -1/2 week old 3 pound beautiful, sweet, dark red female maltipoo. I live in a heavily wooded golf course community in Ohio where there is a lot of wildlife. My vet (whom I've just met 2 weeks ago) is advising that my puppy should get the liptospirosis vaccine. I've done some internet investigation and there are those who believe in it and those who don't. Does anyone on this forum have an opinion - pro or con? I will be walking her once in a while on our walking paths but she is an indoor dog. We do have an abundance of deer, rabbits, possums, fox, etc. Help, please. I don't want to give her anything that will make her sick.

Comments (8)

• spedigrees z4VT
    10 years ago

I've given this vaccine annually to all my dogs over the past 4 decades. It is part of the distemper, hepatitis, parvo, parainfluenza combination inoculation. Leptospirosis has become somewhat epidemic in my area and the vaccine my vets give is for 4 types of lepto. Lepto and the other diseases covered by this combination vaccine are not anything that you would ever want your dog to contract. The risk of a serious reaction to any of these vaccines is miniscule compared to the risk that these diseases pose. I'd strongly suggest following the immunization protocol that your vet recommends.

Congratulations on your new puppy! May you and she have a long and happy relationship.

• dreamgarden
    10 years ago

paprikash, please read these links before you make any decisions. Best of luck and health to you and your pet.

www.holistic-pet-vet.com/vaccinations/

www.ebvet.com/article7.php

• paprikash
    Original Author
    10 years ago