Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
megs2_gw

I almost killed my Australian Shepard today!

megs2
12 years ago

This is not the first time he has had frontline plus applied, but buddy it was the last! It had been about 45 minutes, he started panting heavily,pacing,and his eyes were very bloodshot.I could feel his heart pounding against my hand. He was in severe acute distress.

I am a nurse, maybe that's why I knew he was about to have a heart attack. His eyes were so red from his bloodpressure going very high. I immediately gave him 2 benadryl(25mg each), picked him up and put him in the tub. I used joy dish liquid since it cuts grease, and I knew Frontline is oil based. I got every bit of that #%$#$* off my boy.

Thank God is all I can say. Thank God I had that benadryl in the house! I know he would have had some residual problems from that, like heart or liver problems, if he did not die. He is only 1 1/2 years old; and a great big healthy beautiful boy. And yes, I used the appropriate dosage.

What I don't know is; what the #$** happened??!!!He has had this Frontline before, and he was fine. I eat organic, clean my house with organic products, and put poison on my dog. I feel like an idiot! Now I'm about to cry, because I almost killed my good boy.

Please everyone...keep benadryl in you house if you have pets! Yes 50mg was alot for me to give him, but I knew it would not kill him. He did sleep well.

Any suggestions on what I should do now? My Vet says," Oh no, frontline could not have done that". Uhhh... yes it can, and it did!! Any advice is appreciated. My Vet was about as helpful as my cat.

Comments (26)

• mazer415
    12 years ago
    last modified: 9 years ago

Im very sorry you went through this. I think each time this happens the owner needs to inform the company and a warning label needs to be put on the product.
    I have copied some information for you and any other herding dog owners.....
    Glad you and your dog are okay.