Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
konrad___far_north

Hedgehog..why do you have one?

Konrad___far_north
10 years ago

As a pet?

I really don't know why people have hedgehogs, would love to hear your side, I have no experience.
Other then cute looking, pretty useless, can't interact with them.

I'm babysitting one for my daughter, that thing never gets used to me, always hisses at me when I pick her up and wants to roll up. Guess she's not used to me now,...how long will it take?

She poops in the rolling wheel and runs over it,..a bit stupid, lol.
I'm washing her every second day, the wheel every day, yuck! Not sure how many miles she runs every night...allot! She thinks that a night out running will get her into another territory, but when stepping out of the wheel, she finds out that she's back home again lol.

Is my theory correct?

Comments (6)

• eibren
    10 years ago

If it's tame enough not to bite, it's an OK groundhog.

Don't complain.

;o)

ps They're probably more intelligent than they appear to be.
    *Something* opened a large plastic container of birdseed I had in my gazebo a few years ago, when there was a groundhog in residence, by unscrewing the lid..

• Konrad___far_north
    Original Author
    10 years ago

It's not a groundhog.

Still complaining,. Hedgehog don't make good pets!

And,.. very messy animals, not complaining about the animal, its doing what they're made to be,..it's the people who keep these.

I would much prefer something else, perhaps rabbit, hamster.

• ryseryse_2004
    10 years ago

As far as I am concerned, a 'pet' is an animal that gives back love. Even a canary will react with love when you give it attention - used to have one that would take a shower with me! Hedgehog? Never had one but maybe they are affectionate like guinea pigs.

I don't understand snakes and fish as pets.

• 0nametaken0
    10 years ago