Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
elly_nj

Favorite outside cats story

Elly_NJ
13 years ago

Since spring is almost here, I thought this would be a great time to share your favorite outdoor cat story.

One of my favorites: I was a college student in London. I heard a bird screaming. It was a blackbird perched on an iron fence that surrounded a small front yard. (English blackbirds are like our robins.)

Below the screaming blackbird was a fledgling; evidently its baby. It was being stalked by a cat. I banged on the fence, yelled to flush the cat, but it was focused on the baby. It rushed at the baby, I turned away and the parent bird kept screaming.

That sure made me appreciate cats' hunting skills!

What's your favorite outdoor cat story?

Here is a link that might be useful: Cat prey

Comments (13)

• mazer415
    13 years ago

While I can appreciate the intent behind this posting, I dont appreciate its timing. Seems like it has been posted just to fan flames, or to justify sides....I think it highly inappropriate...

• Anne_Marie_Alb
    13 years ago

ditto! Very crual, Elly! Very sad,
    Anne-Marie

• cal_dreamer
    13 years ago

It is much better to ignore the trolls than become one.

• Elly_NJ
    Original Author
    13 years ago

AnneMarie,

Why not? If keeping cats outdoors is such a good idea, why not have a thread like this? I want to know the wonderful things that happen when cats are outdoors.

Also, it seems like anecdotal information (like, "I have birds in my yard, and my cats roam!" Or "I never saw my cat kill anything!") seems to be the basis science for some, so I am sharing my anecdotal information.

This is satire, and satire serves to underline the ridiculous and hypocritical.

• Anne_Marie_Alb
    13 years ago

Elly,