Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
jennybog_gw

Pot Belly Pig Help

jennybog
12 years ago

Hello i was hoping for some help. We fostered a pot belly pig from the shelter. The first couple days she was sweet and listened well. We took her for several walks and life was good. Day 3 she start nosing us hard. Day 4 was jumping up and trying to bite us. We did a little research and know she was being territoral but this was some scary stuff. We wanted one and thought this would be a good test to see how much work they would be. Never did we think she would be so scary.Any ideas. We would really would like a pig and think if we hand raised one that would be better. We do have experiance with animals.thank you

Comments (5)

• Ninapearl
    12 years ago

hi jenny, i am fairly new to pots. got my first one at about 3 months of age last summer. she was a challenge, to say the least, completely wild, never been handled, terrified of me. it took many, many weeks of just sitting out in the pen and letting her approach me before i got her tamed down. she is now as sweet as they come. my second little piggy i got at the age of 8 weeks. he was handled from birth and came to me very tame.

here is a great website...i have copied/pasted the page that explains "move the pig" behavior modification.

http://www.hamalot.org/pig-pages/move-the-pig-behavior-modification

do you know your pig's history at all? it's possible that she is behaving that way because she is all discombobulated, being in a new place with new people. pots get very bonded to their humans and it will take her a while to let you into her fold. don't give up!!! time and patience and lots of treats. since she is exhibiting some biting, i would NOT feed her by hand right now, just put some yummy treats (popcorn, little pieces of bread, some cheerios) in a shallow pan for her.

will she go belly up for tummy rubs? that's about the best way to a piggy's heart, besides food of course!