Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
guatnut

Canine Diabetes

guatnut
14 years ago

Anyone out there have experience with their dog having diabetes? Our 12 year old lab, Snap, was just diagnosed and I will be giving him insulin injections 2x a day. Would appreciate any first hand experience and will certainly be needing a lot of encouragement.

Comments (6)

• calliope
    14 years ago

My mother's little bischon had it and she did very well on insulin. Mama was elderly and it was my DD and I who did the injections. DD was a vet tech, and I am a nurse, so it was a pretty routine thing for us.......but if you understand the basics of how to keep an animal on an even keel with food intake and on a good schedule for injections........then they can do fine.

We were buying insulin from the vet, and found out that it was very much cheaper from a pharmacy and the vet was fine with scripting us so we would not pay their mark-up. I usually do not do this and buy directly from a vet to support them and keep them in business.....but this is an item you will use long-term and it is expensive.

I think it's easier to control older animals than younger ones, because of their more moderate and constant activity level. Large changes in activity, food intake, or illness can really impact insulin demand. All these should stay as constant as possible. The doc may want to do frequent blood sugars for awhile to reach the correct dosage for your dog.

We rotated injections sites, just like you do with humans. We also worked with the vet as to how often they needed to monitor the blood sugars. The dog kept a really good, constant level and did fine. She eventually had to be put down due to back injury but it was not related to diabetes.