Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
3katz4me

probiotics and cats

3katz4me
12 years ago

I've been giving my cat probiotics for a few months for bad breath and gas. It's worked wonders for these problems - within a few days of starting to give it to him. However if I stop giving it to him the problems seem to reappear fairly soon. I was thinking this was something I'd give him until he got "in balance" and then I could stop giving it to him. Is this something you need to use forever?

Comments (10)

• lzrddr
    12 years ago

Have to admit I have very little experience using a probiotic in a cat. Not sure why it would help bad breath, either. Gas problems are usually a sign of either a dietary intolerance (something in the food that is not being digested properly and allowing some bacterial colonies to grow too well and produce some excessive methane... could be too much carbohydrates, even... your cat on dry food?). Normally probiotics are not designed for prolonged use so I can't comment on indefinite usage. But diet change alone might be helpful in this situation (such as weaning a cat gradually onto a higher protein diet... ie, less dry and more canned food).

• quasifish
    12 years ago

I read an article recently (aimed at people) which said that the benefits of probiotics last only as long as you are taking them. That is counter to what I had always believed, having taken probiotics off and on for many years myself. I don't recall if the article went into any detail as to why a body reverts to it's regular levels (and may require additional probiotics), but maybe that's just it, that your body maintains a certain level only.