Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
jewelbug_gw

Help!!!!!!!Potty training a schnoodle

jewelbug
17 years ago

This is my first inside dog so I'm new at it.

I have a schnoodle(6 months old) that I've had for 4 months and is still not trained. Everyone said to crate train her and thats what I did. She will not go in her crate but she will go all over my home. I stay at home with

her all day and take her outside all during the day. As soon has she hits the carpet she goes just a tiny bit. I have spots all over the carpet. Any advice would be GREAT!

Comments (13)

• mazer415
    17 years ago
    last modified: 9 years ago

You wrote you take her outside during the day, what do you do with her while she is outside? Is she in a fenced area or do you take your dog for wlaks. If you are just letting your dog outside in an enclosed area, you need to actually walk your dog 45 minutes at least once a day. Most people walk their dogs morning, late afternoon and at night before going to bed. I suggest you have a good walk in the morning, a shorter walk during the afternoon and a good 15 - 20 minute walk before going to bed. This will help stimulate your dog to "go".

• spiritual_gardner
    17 years ago

I went through this when I got my female Hound/Shepard last April. It is one of the most exasperating things I have experienced, and this was my fourth indoor dog. The others were very easy to train. So, I think I did learn some....

First you need to realize that you are starting to miss or push the edge for prime potty training time for your pup. Also, as I found out, not all dogs are the same in this category. Having said that, you need to start treating her like she is a 2-3 month old pup.