Return to the Pet Debates Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Pet care for the disabled/elderly

Posted by kef888 (My Page) on
Thu, Nov 13, 08 at 18:01

Hi everyone,
I am a student doing a university project, and we're looking to create a device that would aid the disabled/elderly in looking after their pets.
One idea is a device that would lower/lift food and water bowls to/from the floor to prevent people from having to bend over. Do you think something like this would be useful?
Or do you have any other ideas about the sorts of problems elderly/disabled people face when caring for their pets?
If you do have any ideas or relevant personal experiences, please do let me know.
Thank you!

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Pet care for the disabled/elderly

We used to feed and water a dog next door that was being neglected terribly. What we did was take a coffee can and poked two holes, ran string and lowered the can over the fence. It wasn't very elegant, but it served its purpose. You could improve it but I would be concerned about 2 strings hanging over where the pet eats all day, so this isn't really viable for what you want to do.

If it were for a cat/small dog, I would think about creating a raised feeding area, easy for disabled to access, and the pet could reach it by the pet stairs that are marketed now, or some version of that. It could work for cat's litter box also (in a different part of the home of course). For a larger pet, someone else may have a good idea for you.

o