Return to the Pet Debates Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
The 'first bite free' law

Posted by archimedes (My Page) on
Fri, Jun 15, 07 at 2:18

There was a story here a few days ago about a woman who suffered a dog bite to the face. She was upset because the dog was returned to the owner and not charged with anything because of the first bite free law.

There's a link to the story. I hope it works because I'm new to this link stuff.

As the story goes, she went across the street to her neighbors for some reason and saw his dog and asked to pet him. The owner said OK.

The dog was in the back of his pick-up and when she went to pet him, thats when the dog bit her on the face.

She doesnt like the fact that the owner doesnt have to pay because of the law and shes got a scar for life. Im not sure if she just wants to bring this to peoples attention or if she wants the law removed to protect people from going through what she did.

Im with the owner. Its not his or the dogs fault, he was just acting like a dog. When she reached up, the dog must of not like the fact that she was invading his personal space and reacted like a dog would. A quick snap to let you know that you are doing something he doesnt appreciate.

The law I think is fair. Theres probably a case now and again in which the animal does attacks just because it feels like it or its the owners fault and gets the first bite free card. But I would like to think thats the exception and not the rule.

People have to remember that animals are animals and you cant always predict, just like people, how they are going to react in every situation. Doesnt anyone use common sense any more?

---- Archie

Here is a link that might be useful: news video of story

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: The 'first bite free' law

Interesting story! The first bite free makes perfect sense to me. How else are you, as the owner, supposed to learn that your dog may potentially bite?

o

Read my post in
this thread