Return to the Parents of Toddlers Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
he's a brat!...venting

Posted by Mimii (My Page) on
Fri, Dec 14, 01 at 0:18

Let me start by saying that I don't have children. I have a lot of experience with them, but don't have any of my own. So I try very hard not to be critical of parents, because I haven't been there. That said...
My 3 year old godson is a brat. A terrible, spoiled, poorly behaved, undisciplined brat. His older brother (5) is a crybaby, also undisciplined. They're cute as anything, but so poorly behaved that no one in the family but their grandparents want them around. I really feel sorry for the kids- I know its not their fault. Is there anything I can do? Their mother is the type of woman who knows everything about everything, so what I'm really looking for is a very tactful way to suggest taht she join a parents group or something that will help her to learn how to discipline her kids. (She also just gave birth about 3 weeks ago. She's overwhelmed, and the kids are going through a big adjustment, but they were brats before the baby, so its not just a phase). Any ideas? Thanks

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: he's a brat!...venting

You are the godparent, you were chosen by the parents to assist in guidance and nuturing of the child, if this is in fact your definition of your role. Why not just be up front and offer to help her? Don't be critical because that could lead to her being defensive, especially if she is overwhelmed and with a newborn and 2 "bratty" kids. I hate that word. Maybe her parenting style and yours, should you become a parent, just aren't going to be the same.

o