Return to the Parents of Toddlers Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Not growing much ?

Posted by
chris
(bfsc92@netscape.net) on
Tue, Oct 2, 01 at 10:54

We were at the Dr.'s yesterday for DS's 18 month well-visit.
He was born at 8lbs. 11 oz and for the first 6 months he grew like a weed, since that he has slowed down. At the last 2 visits (12mo, 15 mo) his growth was not much, and now at his 18 month, he's only gained 10 oz since the last visit. His next well-visit is not until 24 months - the doctor almost had me schedule an appointment between then to check his weight. The thing is he eats well, and seems to be growing out of clothes and shoes.
Anyone had an experience like this? did they have large growth spurt and catch up?

Otherwise he is fine...he's got a very large vocabulary - the Dr was impressed with. And his physical abilities are almost that of a two year old (ei: he runs and climbs, but doesn't jump)

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Not growing much ?

Now I'm not a Doctor but I wouldn't worry too much about it. He sounds very active...maybe he's wearing off what he's eating. Maybe he just has a high metabolism....one I'd kill for right now...~laffs~ I don't have much faith in our healthcare systems and my little one doesn't go unless she's sick. I'd prefer to take her to a naturopath anyway. I'm trying to remember but if memory serves I think mine kinda petered off around that age. Gosh I couldn't tell you how much she weighed 'cept at birth and the few times she's ever been to a doctors office I took her in and weighed her. Definately keep an eye on him but I'd say if he's eating good and is active and happy...he's probably fine. My oldest sister was a really fussy eater and she really couldn't afford to lose weight....even now. Well Mom fed her bread and milk...~laffs~ Sounds like something right out of an old prison movie but the doctor told Mom if she's happy and active....she'll come around when she gets hungry....and she did....~smiles~

o