Return to the Parents of Toddlers Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Potty Training! Help! Please!!

Posted by italics (My Page) on
Wed, Aug 23, 06 at 23:13

I am a preschool teacher. I teach 2 and 3 year olds. We are considered the "potty training class." One of my kids is almost four and will not poop in the potty. Yesterday, he sat on the potty for about 15 minutes and within 5 minutes of getting up, pooped in his underwear. He doesn't have wetting accidents anymore. He has been wearing underwear for close to a year. I really don't know what else to do with him. There's a lot of pressure to get him trained so he can move up because he's too big to be in my room. We recently promoted our kids, so I've got a bunch of little girls and one big, hyper-active boy. Please help. I appreciate any suggestions or ideas you submitt.

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Potty Training! Help! Please!!

What does his mother say? Are you both on the same page with potty-training, and are you both seeing the same behaviors? Some boys just take longer, but others have something else going on.

There's lots of good information available about potty-training, so I won't go into any specifics here on that tack. But as the parent of a child with special needs, I'll address that possibility.