Return to the Parents Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
what should i tell my daughter?

Posted by
Caryn
(Caryn@somewhere.com) on
Wed, Dec 26, 01 at 12:05

When I used the bathroom this morning, I forgot to flush it immediately and my 5 year old daughter came in and saw blood in the toilet. ( I had my period today.) Of course, she asked me why I was bleeding.

What exactly do you tell her? I'm not good at explaining these things with my kids. And even if I did, I doubt if she would even understand. Has this happened to any of you before?

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: what should i tell my daughter?

She probably just wants to know that you're ok. I'd just say that Mommy's sometimes bleed but then are ok and that you're not sick or anything.

o

Yep, I'd say pretty much the same thing. Simple, reassuring her that you are fine. It doesn't require any further explanation unless she asks more questions. Answer what she asks with the simplest version of the truth possible.

I've had this conversation with my sons over similar incidents. But DS#1 is the question man! Always one more question! So when they asked why moms bleed, I told them it is something that happens when a women is grown up and it has to do with her body staying healthy in case she wants to have a baby. Like above, I made sure they understood that it does not hurt me and it doesn't mean I am sick.

But they continued, do I bleed all the time? Does it ever stop? I answered exactly what they asked. No, it happens a few days each month. It stops when I am going to have a baby.

It is ackward at first to answer these personal kinds of questions. But you get used to it if you just answer simple and honestly the question they asked, don't feel like you have to have "the talk" every time they ask a question about bodies. It will all come out over the next several years one question at a time, so they have time to digest it.