SHOP PRODUCTS
Houzz Logo Print
allyvera18

New Years Eve Babysitting -- long

allyvera18
22 years ago

Today I advertised on all of the mailboxes of my affluent apartment complex that I'm offering a New years eve slumber party for 8 children ages 2 to 12 from 8 pm to 8 am. I'm crossing my fingers that it'll go smoothly but I have some concerns. Since I'm a college student with no children, I have some questions. Okay, i'm charging $50 per child for 12 hours of babysitting including meals and lots of entertainment (I work with elementary students 4 hours a day so I think I have entertainment down). I thought this was a lot of money but my mom and her friends emphasized what a pain it is to find a babysitter on new years eve, especially an older and more responsible one and that they would have killed for this kind of service when they had young children. It's less than 5 dollars an hour, and the majority of the people who live here can definitely afford it. I'm also making extra hours available for $5 an hour. I set the flat rate because it will be costly renting movies and buying food and stuff and since I can only allow 8 children, I can't afford to only have a couple of kids for just a few hours (I am a college student after all!) However, I'm concerned that parents will want to pick their kids up after they get home (in the early am hours) which is understandable cause I don't think they'll want to wake up at 8 am to pick them up (which is why i'm offering additional hours) but then again, I'm afraid they'll want a reduced price because of that. So my main questions are: would you pay $50 per child for an entire fun evening with a very experienced, over 18 sitter? Would you not want your child to stay the entire 12 hours? Would you prefer an hourly rate? Is it wrong of me to set a flat rate like that? Should I remain firm when people want exceptions? My mom assures me that since we have a couple hundred people in our complex, finding 8 who are willing to comply w