Return to the Parents Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
It's hard being an adult child

Posted by cloudsgrey (My Page) on
Mon, Dec 23, 13 at 0:38

Hi, I am 34, I have been in and out of my parents house. I live in their garage, which is converted into a room. I live on social security money, no job, and have a severe case of Bi Polar 2. I have been in and out of hospitals. I am writing to say that my living situation is not a good one, I do not have a nice relationship with my mother. I do am co dependent. Everything that I am is everything that I don't want to be. I want to have a job. But I have been jobless for many years now that I have no experience, and I suffer panic attacks. I do not get enough money to live on my own. I haven't been lucky enough for any rooms to come up. I have now pretty much turned into an adult baby. When I was 18 I thrived, I moved out of the house and lived on my own for years. But my bi polar got worse and mania became an issue and I lost my job. If anybody has any advice for me it would be great. I did sign up for some classes to get my mom out of my hair. I am seriously afraid my life will be like this forever. I don't like putting my parents through this.

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: It's hard being an adult child

Hi Cloudsgrey

I'm sorry you are going thru this. I have a family member that is bi-polar so I kind of understand your situation. Do you receive counseling? The worse thing you can do is shut yourself off from others.

I know that getting your meds stablized is so important. Keeping you in my thoughts.And hoping you can get the right kind of help.

o

thank's yes, I go to group counseling, am on meds, but the depression is really thick.

o

Hi cloudsgrey

What sort of job did you used to have ?

Have you thought of some sort of volunteer job, just to get your confidence up and just to get out of the house for a while ?