Return to the Parents Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
should daughter have to dissect in school

Posted by
darkstar
(nrthstr20@aol.com) on
Thu, Nov 29, 01 at 16:13

My 12 year old daughter is in middle school this year. She has always been very squimish about anything the least bit "gross". I don't know where she get's it, I am a vet tech and no one else at home has made a big deal out of gross things. Anyway, her class will be dissecting a sheeps eyeball soon. This is something she has worried about all year and she now says she is not doing it and wants me to write a note for her, to excuse her. I am really torn, I don't think anyone likes doing that kind of thing, but throughout her school years, I know she will be called upon to do these kind of science studies. Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated. By the way, she is a good student.

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: should daughter have to dissect in school

yes.

o

The only reason I would let her not do it was if your family had something against animal research. Obviously, you don't.

We all have things in life that we don't necessarily want to do, but do them anyway because of necessity. If dissecting eyeballs is a part of her class, then it is a necessity for her. It's true that you might get her out of the project by writing a note, but she'll probably learn more about growing up if you don't.

o

Does she just think it's gross or does she get ill? Two different options then.

If she just thinks it's gross then I have to agree with not writing the letter. She may find out she isn't as grossed out about it as she thought she'd be (I was the same way).

If there is a possibility she'll get physically ill, talk to the teacher, let him/her know there is this possibility (won't be the first time this would happen I'm sure).

Then I would sit down and talk to DD and come up with a plan. Life is sometimes easier for kids if they have a "what if" plan. What if I start to get sick? WHat if I feel faint?

Good Luck.