Return to the Parents Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Any words of comfort? Advice? Please? :)

Posted by azhomebuyerseller (My Page) on
Tue, Nov 8, 05 at 13:53

Hi all---
This is my first time on this particular forum. I am a mother of an 8 year old and a 6 year old, both boys.
The 6 year old is going to have surgery to repair an inguinal hernia in a little over 2 weeks. This will be the first time either of my children has been in an operating room.
I have been edgy, irritable, feeling slightly depressed for about a couple of weeks...oh, since I scheduled his surgery! :)
I know this is minor surgery, I know he will be in good care---his doctor performs this surgery many times a week, he will be at a children's hospital in a major city, it's an outpatient procedure albeit with general anesthesia.
So I need some advice for how to get over this paralyzing fear in the back of my head regarding his surgery! I have had surgery a few times, and it scared me to death going under general anesthesia each time. It's just one of those irrational fears.
Help!

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Any words of comfort? Advice? Please? :)

I have been through this twice with my son at age 18 months and again at age 2-1/2 for similar procedures. You will be able to be next to your child in recovery as he wakes up. The hardest part is watching them be wheeled away. Make sure you have a good friend or your husband, you'll need somone to hold your hand. Children are quick to recover. My 18 month old was standing up in his crib on the way back from from recovery! He had a testicular tortion repair. It will be okay, really.

o

Thanks! I know, deep down, he'll be okay. I can imagine how difficult it must have been for you with your son so much younger than mine will be! My husband will be there, and our 8 year old will also be there because he insists he needs to be there in case his little brother needs hugs going in or coming out :).

o