SHOP PRODUCTS
Houzz Logo Print
allyvera18

vegetarian kids?

allyvera18
22 years ago

I've been a vegetarian for quite a few years now. I eat dairy and eggs, and a fairly well balanced diet. I don't have any kids now, but I was discussing this with a friend the other day. She asked me if i'm going to raise my kids as vegetarians, and I didn't know what to say. Personally, I could never go back to meat again, and it would be hard for me to serve my kids meat because I would have to buy it and cook it which goes against what I believe in. But my friend pointed out that if I raised them vegetarian, they might never have a chance to decide for themselves if they want to be one or not since the sight of meat may disgust them like it disgusts me. I really want my kids to make their own decisions. Nutrition isn't really a concern because I've been practicing it for a few years and researching it and I feel like I would provide adequate diets (with dairy and eggs of course) for the kids. I know the kids will miss out on mcdonalds and pepperoni pizza at parties but I don't think that's necessarily a bad thing. Any vegetarian parents out there? What do you do?

Comments (61)

• kyosan_earthlink_net
    22 years ago
    last modified: 9 years ago

I'm in the same situation as you allyvera18, and have decided that I'm going to raise my adopted girl vegetarian. I know that killing animals for food isn't necessary and want to raise my daughter valuing and avoiding harming all sentient life including animals.

I won't try to force her to be vegetarian when she goes out on her own but will try my best to instill those values in her, especially when young. I figure that If I don't try to instill these values in her and let her go entirely her own way she will likely be influenced by the MacDonalds culture and not be a vegetarian. I feel that, an important part of parenting is teaching values and these values are very important.